Why I’m Not Renewing NAPP or Supporting Adobe.

I hate to make a post of this nature, but I have been completely disgusted with Adobe’s decision to move to a subscription based software system (Creative Cloud), and would love to hear others’ opinions-good or bad.
My complaints are as follows:
1) Many small businesses who rely on Adobe products, such as the one I am employed by, financially need to have control over when they upgrade their imaging software. It is not always necessary or financially viable to have the latest and greatest.
2) I may be wrong, but it seems as though while Adobe will force users to “pay to play”, they are not guaranteeing anything in return as far as regular and significant upgrades. This means a whole lot of users will be paying more, yet not getting more in return. Correct me if I’m wrong.
3) Although Adobe is not the sole company offering digital imaging software, it most certainly dominates the market. Technically, they don’t have a monopoly, but due to their high standing they can pretty much do whatever they want and remain a market leader. I really hope their poor decision has negative consequences.
4) Adobe support has long been known (in my opinion) for absolutely awful customer service and support (and a pretty crappy website setup if you ask me). What are the chances that this will improve?
For these and other reasons, I am forced to discontinue my NAPP membership. Although NAPP’s product is great, because their business depends on continuing their support of Adobe products, they pulled a complete 180-first expressing frustration over Adobe’s creative cloud subscription model, to currently touting what a great benefit it will prove to be.
I look forward to finding a Photoshop alternative!

4 responses to “Why I’m Not Renewing NAPP or Supporting Adobe.

  1. I have signed up for the new Creative Cloud, I thought about it a lot. Though when I first heard about and people said that it was going to cost $50 a month for the first 12 months, then go to $70 after that, I was shocked. I thought, there is no way I can afford that. Then I started doing some research into it. If you just want Photoshop then it only costs $20 a month. So you will pay $240 a year. Considering the full version cost over a $1000, it will take me 4 years to pay that much, but in the meantime, every time they update the software you get it for free. So for someone like me, it makes it really affordable, I can afford that. The only downside is if I don’t want to keep paying for it, then I don’t have access to it anymore. But maybe by then someone else will have a much better product.
    Also, can I add that I have received updates since subscribing and I have found their forums to be a great place to get help.

    • Thanks for the reply and your input, Leanne! You make some great points as far as why it’s not that bad of a deal. With that said, I guess my main issue is the existence of choice. Additionally, do you remember CS4? Some have great things to say about it, but I would label it the Windows Vista of Photoshop version history. I hope the CC subscriber has the choice to roll back versions if they don’t like an update-but I doubt it. I like your point that by the time your monthly payments have equalled the cost of a full version there may be an alternative out there. I’m going to look at the terms of their new software license soon to see what promises Adobe makes as far as update schedule. I’d be willing to bet that major updates from this point on will be less frequent than in pre-creative cloud times. Thanks again!

  2. Big mistake by Adobe to go this route and they are getting hurt by it. I’ve read where many Photoshop Users have switched to competitors like Corel. Perhaps it will make Aobe think twice before putting the next Lightroom Pacakge on the cloud.

    • I agree completely, John. Once CS5 starts feeling too outdated to me, I am going to try switching over to Corel at work and home. I really hate abandoning PS seeing as I’ve been working with it since v.4.0 but their creation of the CC makes me ill. Best of luck to you and thanks for the comment!

Leave a Reply

